The Hunt Begins – getting started on the pre-graduation job search

Posted on

Saturday was graduation day for many students at the University of Louisville. Sadly, I was not one of them.

While part of me may sigh and say that I wish it all were done and over so I could move on, the more realistic side says “Hey girl, slow down. You don’t even have a job lined up yet!”

The whole point of college (for most people) is to earn a degree and obtain a job that actually pays a decent salary. There are many jobs that do not require a college degree, but everything I have in mind does. So when I catch myself eyeballing retail stores and fast-food restaurants as a potential second job, I really have to take a step back and ask myself a few pertinent questions.

1) How will this job help me reach my goal?
I may be looking for a quick way to earn some cash, but in the long run, I know I’m going to have to make connections between all the jobs I have held and where I want to go in life.
If my goal is to own a chain of fast-food restaurants, then working in a burger joint would be a great (and essential) first step. But, if I wanted to be an astronaut (yeah, right!) it wouldn’t make much sense would it?

2) How does this job incorporate the skills I have learned?
Reading and talking about some random theory in class is one thing, but applying it out in the real world is something completely different.
While writing up a contract for my internship this last semester, I realized that I have learned quite a bit (imagine that!).

After studying for over four years now, I would be selling myself short if I took a job as a receptionist  who just answered phones and filed all day (not that there’s anything wrong with that).
I would much rather work in a job that uses those skills I have paid so much to learn.

3) If I get this job, will I love it?
My current job has very short shifts – 3 hours at a time –

and some days it can be very stressful. On those days that three-hour shift seems to last a year. Other days, it goes by too fast. I have been at this job for several years now and while it may not pay the big bucks, I love what I do. I have said many times that the best way to find a job you’ll love is to think of something you already like to do and then figure out how to make a living doing it.

Personally, if I get hired on for a job I hate I am going to be miserable all through my shift, but more than that, I will be miserable as I am getting ready to go to a job I dislike and will even be upset at the end of the day thinking that I have to go back to that awful job the next day.
No, that’s not the life for me.

So I may not have graduated on Saturday, but my time will come. When it does, I’ll be ready to find the job that leads me to my dream career. Will you be able to say the same?

3 thoughts on “The Hunt Begins – getting started on the pre-graduation job search

    Joey Trebif said:
    June 10, 2011 at 12:06 PM

    Great post and I’m sure this is what every other graduating student is thinking about. Posting a link to this on my site (and good luck in your job hunt!).

    College Grad - Will Work for Food | CareerAlley said:
    June 12, 2011 at 1:02 AM

    […] The Hunt Begins – getting started on the pre-graduation job search – You are not alone! Great post on “My (anything under the sun) Blog“. Some great personal insights into what most college grads go through. Take a read (it is quick and useful). […]

    […] The Hunt Begins – getting started on the pre-graduation job search – You are not alone! Great post on “My (anything under the sun) Blog“. Some great personal insights into what most college grads go through. Take a read (it is quick and useful). […]

Leave a Reply

